Poisons The Minds Of The Children
label: daybyday

producers: cadence

guests: cee-rock 'the fury', quite nyce, mr. lif
year of release: 2003
website: rawproduce.com
Quite a throwback. At least ten years. Back to the murky waters of low booms and generous sample treatments. Along with clever wordplay and saying things with style and substance. Ah, those were the days. And the memories are coated in gold with not too many of our favorite records from back then ever actually achieving gold. But quality and not Soundscan made a classic. With this album by Cadence not even putting a blimp on the radar screen of Soundscan, it will not go gold. But it still could be a classic. However, more so back then than right now. Despite or because this is a throwback to when even mainstream music was creative.
Cadence is a name you should be familiar with ever since your favorite efforts of the duo Raw Produce. Cadence offers us an album entirely produced by him, that comes as raw as sushi, to use a simile that fits the time frame properly.
The album is anything but spread out. It caters to a niche of straight flowing over lower beats of roughly one formula. With the biggest let down being the continuously muffled sound, clustered scratched hooks, plus the mix and mastering that often keeps the rhymes over instead of with the beat or at other times even almost behind the beat. That's also due to the verses sounding like one takes, instead of patched together. What however is a good thing. As is the thick jazz on most of the tracks a good thing, as heard in the horns of "Take A Chance"

1. Intellectual Property
2. The Odds
3. An American Dream
4. Always
5. In The Pocket feat. Cee-Rock 'The Fury'
6. Take A Chance
7. What I Do
8. The Mighty Pen
9. Teach
10. The Ballad Of Sallie Mae
11. I Want To Talk To You feat. Quite Nyce
12. Not For A Minute
13. An Ounce Of Prevention
14. Vengeance Or Victory
15. W.
16. I Am Myself (Remix) feat. Mr. Lif
And Cadence sticks to one flow that is thin on variation. Still, he comes the most attention grabbing during his long and content heavy verses. Being it on the would be censored "W", that criticizes the most powerful man with the W. middle name. These harsh words speak out what a patriot is not supposed to utter, in a world that bastardizes criticism as unpatriotic. What can somewhat be adapted to hip hop too: when a track that speaks about the room temperature gets more critical praise (and a Grammy nomination) than honest reflections on the world behind the Crystal glass, more than clever words and cocky and funny braggadocios rhymes, then something is seriously wrong with the game. And so the hardship that all the many messages on this album bring, are still worth it. Because Cadence says something. Actually so much that it will take some time for you to get your head around all the subjects. May they be as sarcastic as the album title, or the "An American Dream" song, that mocks with words and music or "Always" that massages your brain with a positive outlook.
Add to this a selected few guests, going by the names of Mr. Lif on "I Am Myself (Remix)", Cee-Rock "The Fury" on "In The Pockets" and Quite Nyce on "I Want To Talk To You". Put some traditional reflecting on hip hop verses on "The Mighty Pen" and some braggadocio twists on "Not For A Minute" on the pile. To then get serious again on the painful "Vengeance Or Victory" that turns the thoughts around 9/11, with the break in the beat being goose bump material.
This album is deep and goes deep, trying to drag you along with it. The packaging of the message (rhymes and beats) is at times struggling to attract the attention disorder customer. But reality looks closer to how this album sounds like, than all the nicely lit player's balls. And maybe even more than on the excellent and still to be released Raw Produce album "The Feeling Of Now", Cadence uses the Boogie Monsters mantra to say something when he has the people listening. And that is risking to be politically incorrect, as you might piss off someone. But even the mainstream should know now that the truth hurts.
review: tadah
» back to top | last changed : 09.04.03
2000 - 2012.08 by urban smarts | contact