Night Train To Babble On
label: dope discs
production: nocturnal ron, kutmaster kurt, dj fred c.
guest: motion man, crag m, awol one, double k, ali abnormal, others.
year of release: 2004
1. Do What I Gotta
2. Baby Pea
3. What Do You Need Today feat. Motion Man
4. Speakin' Out feat. J.Maddox
5. Night Train To Babble On
6. Hey Hey Hey
7. Spanish Fly
8. Doo Doo (In The Pot)
9. Cosmic Beam feat. Ali Abnormal
10. People Skit
11. Move On Up
12. Need Some More feat. Crag Malkovich
13. L.A. Mike Live From The Blackyard
14. Human Beam Earth Team feat. Awol One
Hmm…. To dare or not to dare. Cause I could draw a comparison out of my hat and it would be daring, but kinda right. Ah, screw it, let's try and see what happens: Fat Hed might just be the rightful heir to Biz Markie. There, I said it.
There's a certain silliness about Fat that is reminiscent of the Diabolical. Maybe especially on the first song "Do What I Gotta", because here Fat also sings on the hook (not to say that he only does it here). And while he comes closer to hitting the desired notes than Biz could ever, there's a certain comic resemblance and relation. Of course Fat Hed is still years away from being a similarly beloved and legendary artist, but with a song - heck with an album - like this, he's on the right path.
"Do What I Gotta" starts the album, was previously on the "Graffiti Kings" compilation, and is quite the banger. The Nocturnal Ron is starting the album with one of many booming basses. Lyrically Fat Hed does not save the planet, space, the galaxy or you, me, him or our hamster. Nope, he's having a good time. Later on the record, like when he declares that "Fat Hed is not your enemy" (on "Baby Pea") or that "party people around the world we love you" (on "Cosmic Beam") you can tell that this is one friendly bear.
A bear that gives us plenty of dope tracks and in the case of "What Do You Need Today" he does it with the help of Kutmastar Kurt on the beat and Motion Man on the other microphone. The result is a shameless party tune. This makes you wonder when it got uncool to have fun. These artists here certainly don't care. Because every moment has its place, and so Fat Hed proves on "Speakin' Out" that he can be serious for at least the second he drops a couple of politician's names. Nevertheless, he's not Chuck D, or Paris, or Immortal Technique. Nope, he's running to catch the "Night Train To Babble On", another nifty song over a nifty Nocturnal Ron beat. Here a lady is the center of attention, for at least parts of the song.
With such a good natured and nurtured spirit, Fat Hed is reminiscing by doing, meaning that he looks into entertainment of the past on "Hey Hey Hey", twists that all into fresh rhymes for today, over another funky beat. Granted, there will be people out there that can not stand so much happiness. At the same time however, rather than dismiss it, you might want to get infected by it. I mean, don't approach "Doo Doo (In The Pot)" with an intellectual or street mentality; by God, don't. If anything, there's at least something about the rhythm of "Spanish Fly". DJ Fred C created something hip hop, with the emphasis being on serious hopping. And it works without the bass that returns on "Cosmic Beam".
Double K (of People Under The Stairs) shows up on "L.A. Mike… Live From The Blackyard" and he makes fun of album plugs, the persona 'Streets', and you. Now that's the spirit. A spirit carried by Crag Malkovich on the fabulous "Need Some More" or Awol One on "Human Beam Earth Team", where Fat Hed declares "Houston, we have no problem".
With too many people being too damn stuck up their own arses, something as silly as this record is a …. ahh, breath of fresh air. And now considering that this record is coming from LA, how ironic is that? Well, whatever the case, this gets the full fledged stamp of approval, with all possible fanfare and hoopla. There you have it. Care for some cotton candy?
review: tadah
» back to top | last changed : 22.05.04
2000 - 2012.08 by urban smarts | contact