Meet Jon Doe ...
label: daybyday

producers: jon doe

guests: mf doom, 7l & esoteric, counb bass d, c-rayz walz, supastition, scienz of life, rubix, declaime, medaphoar, others.
year of release: 2003
The list of producers you should know gets longer every year. After this release, another name secured his place on that list: Jon Doe. He's the in house producer of Prophetix, that up to this record hasn't yet really done too much that would give clout to a claim for him to be added to that list. What however only makes the surprise, and with it the pleasure, of discovering the thoroughness of this "Meet Jon Doe…" producer album, that's bonafide from the first track to the last, bigger.
Because everything just sounds good. From the intro to the interludes to the one Prophetix song that's on here. And Eddie Meeks and Mello Mellanin get to spit over a beat that's better than the majority on the "High Risk" album (and that album wasn't really bad either). But Joe has found a thunderous bassline, an italo western harmonica. And with the emcees doing fun time rhyming on "Gotcha (We Ain't Gon' Let You Go)", the track is just banging. This cut is also just one of the Daybyday fam songs, with Binkis' "Anonymous" being the second. Here Jon chops up an otherwise straight up down line, putting everything in place for a neck breaking beat. Next in line is Count Bass D, who offers two tracks: "Exit 273" and "Number 2 Pouncyl", with the second actually more being an interlude with words, as it clicks in under a minute. His listing rhyme fits the last Daybyday in house song on here. With the man himself, MF Grimm, stepping up to do "Teach The Babies (Remix)", that's adding upspirited soul and jazz to the, uhm, grimness of this man's usual reality.

1. Prophetix - Gotcha (We Ain't Gon' Let You Go)
2. MF Doom - The Mic Sounds Nice
3. 7L & Esoteric - Title Track
4. J Sands of Lone Catalysts - Strong Black Rebel Rap

5. Medaphoar - Let 'Em Know

6. Binkis Records - Anonymous
7. Count Bass D - Exit 273
8. C-Rayz Walz - These Bills
9. Supastition - The Signature [Rock On...]
10. Count Bass D - Number 3 Pouncyil
11. Lost N Found Dept. and Grizz - Ain't Ya'll
12. Scienz of Life - Hot Night
13. Rubix - Brave at the Heart
14. MF Grimm - Teach the Babies (Remix)
15. Declaime - Death Becomes You
The remaining songs then are done by underground a-list emcees, as well as a couple of c-list folks, that got a-list skills. The households however go by the names of a MF Doom for starters, who's on "The Mic Sounds Nice". In this case it's not just the mic though, as the beat does some serious car chase, sometime seventies TV show, adrenaline rush, while Doom is just Doom. 7L & Esoteric have to contribute over the possibly weakest beat on "Title Track", especially in the face of "Strong Black Rebel Rap". This is incredible during the hook, a little bare through the rhymes, with that however offering enough room for J.Sands to spit his spirited rhymes. Further there's two Stones Throw artists, with Medaphoar's "Let 'Em Know" being eager, while Declaime's "Death Becomes Her" is as relaxed as this cat is. The beat here is so super smooth, with a little humming sample, it's like butter on polished marble. Nevertheless, the words get serious and despite everything, the mind is not that at ease.
C-Rayz Walz gets to spit over "These Bills", and again the sample usage is just immaculate. Having this result in one of the best songs on here. And considering the C-Rayz album that's about to come out, a little bit more of this, instead of all of that, would have done the album some good. The next cat then might not be ringing too many bells, but Supastition is usually an emcee you want to listen to. Because he's got good rhymes, his flow is without flaw, and as he proves on "The Signature (Rock On…)", he always has interesting things to say. Already shining on the Prophetix album, the Lost-N-Found Dept. also comes through on "Ain't Really", with some help from Grizz, before fellow ATLiens Scienz Of Life sweat the "Hot Night". And this is the second song that doesn't really work, with the Latin flavor and singing being unnecessary at best. This serious glitch is corrected again with Rubix' "Brave At The Heart", another track where everything comes together.
The number of albums people hype is bigger with each and every year too. The truly excellent records get lost in the crying wolf cloud of overpromoted mediocrities. Amongst the pile, there will be a couple of people trying to get everyone to listen to this album. This reviewer will be one of the voices in that crowd. Because with the success of smaller siblings and divine's ascendants, there's no reason why this album shouldn't enjoy the same over the top exposure and accomplishments. As this record is excellent, good, better and puts Jon on that producers you need to know list.
review: tadah
» back to top
2000 - 2012.08 by urban smarts | contact