The Feeling Of Now
label: female fun
production: raw produce
guest: mr. lif, akrobatik, esoteric, mike ladd, kofi.
year of release: 2003
1. This Is The Start...
2. The Feeling Of Now
3. Decomposure
4. The Wack MC
5. Grey Skies
6. G Is For Guava...
7. Step Inside The Lab
8. Not Available In Stores
9. Up All Night
10. Metastasis
11. Cycles
12. S Is For Spinach...
13. Perpetual Motion feat. Esoteric
14. Freestyle feat. Kofi & Mike Ladd
15. The Dick Jam
16. R-A-W
17. Breathe Deep
18. T Is For Turnip...
19. Rick Cerone feat. Akrobatik
20. Weight Of The World
21. I Am Myself feat. Mr. Lif
22. Voicemail...
23. Who's Right?
24. This Is The End...
In order to explain why this album is good, you best take "The Dick Jam" as an example. Considering that the whole song speaks about a guys favorite body part, but despite your homophobia (you ignorant shmuck), you actually like the song, says a lot. Heck, the song is even - arguably - the best song on here. Because additionally to the very well written and humorous lyrics, the beat is just good. The vibes play a little melody, a flute chimes on the hook and the horns stab through the chorus. And a little longer.
Let's discuss this small little detail: the beat changes for the hook. New instruments are used for the hook, but some play into the first few moments of the verse, showing the care that went into crafting these music pieces. And now wrapping all of this together: you get rappers that talk about topics that have been explored. These verses are recited over beats that borrow a lot of character from the last 13 years. But as much as these elements are a 'been there done that', the album is still fresh and you're enjoying yourself like a kid in a swimming pool.
As basically Pitch and Cadence are good producers and they are good rappers. Be it when they just flow and say clever things, like on "R-A-W", when they talk about their relation to rap ("Breathe Deep") or the struggle and strives on "Weight Of The World" (with a great horn solo during the third verse). Here Cadence says: "I give a pound to my man 'cause the weight's too much to hold / and every time a check bounces / I wonder should I skip the pounds and try to concentrate on ounces?". Pitch has a certain old school style to his delivery on this song, what is a partially wrong statement though. Because this song is actually older than the newest material what could make his flow contemporary for that time. Anyhow, we do find some (long lost) previously released Raw Produce material on here. There's the mentioned "Weight Of The World", then there's "Step Inside The Lab" and "Cycles".
Similarly to "Weight Of The World", where it was all about weight and scale, on "Cycles" verse one is all about water and things that come with water. So says Cadence "it makes me hope we get a list to port / 'cause if we get to the left bank / at least there's hope for support". And comparing Cadence and Pitch, it's fair to say that Cadence is the more complex rapper of the two (as he showcases on the acappella "Not Available In Stores"). He also often opens the songs or even is the sole rapper.
This is however not to say that Pitch does not have his charm too. And he - well both - show that, along with more of the smartaleck humor of "The Dick Jam", on "The Wack MC". Here the ominous 'wack emcee' is discussed and if you don't get a few chuckles out of these lyrics, then your sense of humor is as excising as those Weapons Of Mass Destruction. Oooh, politics. Actually, let's consider politics. Cadence had the song "W" on his solo album (read the review). The critical theme of politics returns on "Who's Right?". Further to that, we get more non-'party and bullshit' on the partially melancholic "Grey Skies", the culture criticism of "Decomposure" or the proud stance of individuality on "I Am Myself" with Mr. Lif.
Speaking of "Decomposure": that song comes on after the title track "The Feeling Of Now", which is the other best song on here (ha). It's also quite blissful how the orchestra seamlessly leads from one song into the next one. With the next one being the mentioned "Decomposure". And then there's another example of how far away from careless rapping this album goes: "Metastasis". Here Cadence talks about cancer, from first person experience. Not as the person with cancer, but the one loosing someone dearly loved due to cancer.
This spectrum of content, from the serious to the silly, makes up the quality of this record. With the music, mostly as jazzy as "Up All Night", always changing, always adding more to it, when you could already be happy with what you have. And you will be happy with what you have here: a record that shows how interesting the 'nothing new under the sun' can still be, if it's done so well as it is done on here.
review: tadah
» back to top | last changed : 24.04.04
2000 - 2012.08 by urban smarts | contact