Situation Renaissance
label: birthwrite
production: overflo, linebackers, kenny keys
guest: cosmo galactus, iomos marad
year of release: 2004
1. One Year After THe Renaissance (Intro)
2. Monologue
3. The Long
4. Fieldsongs
5. The Connection
6. Local 181 feat. Cosmo Galactus
7. Airplane
8. Keys Of Life feat. Iomos Marad
If this were 1992, then Thaione Davis' video to "The Connection" would play on "Yo! MTV Raps". He'll at least get a 'Mic Check' in The Source, people would be discussing Chicago Rap, and label reps would comb through the streets of the Windy City, to find out if there's more artists like Thaione.
But this is not 1992. This is 2004 and now no one at MTV cares about Thaione Davis. You'll not see his video, not even on MTV 2 (but the video is here), people don't care about Chicago and label reps are - if anything - trying to find someone that sounds like someone successful that's already out. Hooray for hip hop.
Yes, people are sick and tired of people that moan. But too much music out there makes you sick and tired of rap. Straight up. Not Thaione Davis though. His EP is a sign of hope. A sign of we-know-there's-better-rap-out-there-than-this [enter name of a current rap superstar]. His eight track offering is not even going the tried and tested and currently hyped retro-route (what do I hear, people call it Earth Tones? WTF!?!!?!). Of course there's strong bonds between the sound of a 1992 and Thaione Davis' sound. But if anything, it's pure rap, not retro rap.
We have to start with "The Connection". This song is simply brilliant. We get a previously used sample, paired with crafted drums and lyrics that don't just talk about one thing, but are all 'connected.' There - as mentioned above - is even a video of the song too, so go watch it here. And as said, if it was 1992, then Fab Five Freddy would announce this video.
As simply perfect this song is, there's more on here that's good. It all starts with the "One Year After The Renaissance (Intro)". Thaione speaks over a reggae rhythm which sounds good, even to someone that usually does not really like reggae (i.e. me). The same goes for the beginning of the woman portraying "Fieldsongs". The intro does what an intro is supposed to do: it gets everyone to sit down, it 'eases in' (as it says itself), it's the orchestra chaos before the concert. With "Monologue" the record then really starts and as the vibe is similar to "The Connection", you realize that the EP is so good, because it sounds so whole.
Even when the sounds get a little rougher around the edges, like on "The Long", "Local 181" which features Cosmo Galactus or the drum heavy "Keys Of Life" with Iomos Marad. Again some samples sounds familiar, but they don't sound recycled. And when Thaione starts speaking conscious rhymes, every positive, smart person must like these recordings. Sure partying is nice, but you're not curing the reason for your pain, but simply the feeling of pain with a party. And thus as uncomfortable Thaione's sentiments are, the physiotherapy is needed. It will straighten your back bone and will lift that headache off your brain.
This EP is simply great. It has eight tracks, all of 'em good. All of 'em with reasonable rhymes and well bred rhythms. If this were 1992, Thaione Davis would release it on a label like Big Beat or Wild Pitch or Def Jam. This however is 2004 and so the good people at Birthwrite put it out; this 'must have' release.
review: tadah
» back to top | last changed : 31.07.04
2000 - 2012.08 by urban smarts | contact