Popular Fallacies (True Lies)
label: john doe
includes: gang starr, public enemy, a tribe called quest, diamond d, atmosphere, m.o.p., mobb deep, others.
year of release: 2003
1. Back To The Future
2. Payback
3. True Lies
4. Commercial
5. Domestic Disturbance
6. Look Who's Talking
7. Analyze This
8. Ten Things I Hate About You
9. Higher Learning
10. A Beautiful Mind
This is John Doe (note, not Jon Doe or JON?DOE) and he's part of the 1200 Hobos, who also hosts to a wide and wild variety of members, ranging from Mr. Dibbs on one end and Buck65 on the other. John's "Popular Fallacies (True Lies)" record mingles between being a mixtape and a turntablist record. What means that you can listen to it and just enjoy the tunes. But at the same time, Doe goes through many tracks quicker than a cocaine fiend, and there's actually a whole lot of ideas that went into the sequencing, the scratching, the compiling and the bow of the wrapping.
A good example for that is the "Payback" section of this constant mix (i.e., there's section, but the mix goes from start to finish): we start out with EPMD's "The Big Payback", that then takes us into the James Brown tune "Payback". From there we go into songs that sampled "Payback", get back to EPMD and PMD saying "I got the Funky Drummer drumming". So the mix quickly visits that James Brown song, before LL Cool J appears. What Doe also likes to do is to take cues from lyrics and then continue with the same saying. Like when Large Pro says "it doesn't make sense", what is followed by a Guru moment where he says the same thing.
That's the modus operandi here, and it explains why one of the sections is called "Analyze This". As there's many a little detail to discover. Like little into the mix, you'll get "Step Into The Arena" by Gang Starr, and Doe takes the original sources that Premo used to scratch, and re-scratches these sections. What is something he does in other places too, always to excellent result. What all in all makes the whole record feel like one long routine, which is very well executed. And it's using many classing songs, be it "The Most Beautifullest Thing In The World" on "A Beautiful Mind", "Crooklyn Dodgers" on "Back To The Future", "Secnario" later on, but also even an "Unfinished Smooth" by Ras Kass on "Look Who's Talking".
So it really is a mixtape done by a turntablist, that will please both prospective audiences. You can pop it in and just enjoy the classics, movie quotes, as well as the random unknown song. Or you can listen closely and enjoy the scratches and the flawless blending. Or you can even sit down and study this record. Which really is an incredible complex mix, that will blow away the attentive and get the head nodding of the casual listeners.
review: tadah
» back to top | last changed : 07.02.04
2000 - 2012.08 by urban smarts | contact